POSTWEST band complete POSTWEST band complete

MAKE UP
A musical performance by Dakh Daughters

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kyiv/Ukraine | Performance

It is like a mirror in which the female actors look at themselves and share their personal stories. What does it mean to be an artist? Does it equal a life full of joys and pleasures? Is the whole world in fact a theater? The Dakh Daughters singers are used to wearing makeup on stage—their style is a bleached “puppet” face. Yet their real mask is their stage presence. This basic neutral cover unites different characters, different destinies, different sounds, and the voices of each band member. This musical performance tells the stories of actors without makeup, resulting in the creation and composition of poems and songs. > More

Tanya's Birthday. Berlin

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris, Riga/Latvia | Performance

A point of convergence in European history—the year 1989, or more specifically, the period between the Baltic Way and the fall of the Berlin Wall—serves as the point of departure for the production Tanya’s Birthday. Berlin. > More

Cannon Fodder

KatlZ, Riga/Latvia | Performance

Today we live in a world where any of us can become “cannon fodder.”
And in fact, some of us have already become it. And it’s not as if it was somehow different before.
No, it was about the same. But it is only now that we have fully—and irrevocably—grasped this.
The entropy that haunts us and is part of us is inevitable. It is a law of physics. > More

Date an Eastern European

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Hungary | Performance

The Hungarian theater collective STEREO AKT is taking on the role of matchmaker and inviting the audience on an online date. Everything has been prepared: a cosy restaurant with a good atmosphere, a friendly waiter with a nice smile, and, most importantly, an attractive dating partner from Eastern Europe. The spectator—you—simply has to take a seat and get to know them. But what does it mean to be Eastern European? And to date one? > More

Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies

TR Warszawa, Warsaw/Poland | Performance

Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies is a humorous, critical commentary on the current situation of recommended isolation. Imprisoned as a result of the pandemic, artists join an online superproduction in order to legitimize their existence, creative output, and professional status. Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies is an artistic objection to the imperative of constant creation and an affirmation of rest. We wish to erase the boundaries between the creators and the audience, between the theater and modern technology. > More

A different kind of white

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estonia | Performance

A young man from Estonia goes to Senegal. Escaping to the future has always been his credo, and now here he is, an actor working in Senegal on his next show. Meeting a local, something happens that makes him ask himself difficult questions about one layer of his identity, and he realizes he cannot escape. As a cliché, whiteness is usually conflated with the West. But what if you only recently rejoined the West and were born poor and unsexy in the East? Does white privilege apply to you? Of course it does, objectively, but your subjective inner feeling might insist that there are shades and nuances with regard to class and history. White supremacy can fuck itself, but so can smug privilege that doesn’t remember the price of milk. > More

ZoomTime [SMUTA]

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kyiv/Ukraine | Performance

A large-scale theatrical painting in three acts—a dense sensory immersion into the Time of Troubles. Live acting and viewing enables us to live inside the birth of a period marked by natural disasters and severe political, economic, social, and state crises. Death is very modern. So is the courage to make a choice—any choice. > More

Alambari
#TogetherAtTheSameTime

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kyiv/Ukraine | Performance

Invited by the Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, theatremakers from different countries came together every Sunday from 01.04.-24.05.20 in an online live performance for the Alambari project. > More

POSTWEST band complete POSTWEST band complete

MAKE UP
A musical performance by Dakh Daughters

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kiew/Ukraine | Performance

Es ist wie ein Spiegel, durch den sich die Schauspieler*innen selbst betrachten und ihre persönlichen Geschichten teilen. Was heißt es, Künstler*in zu sein? Kann es mit einem Leben voller Wonne und Vergnügen gleichgesetzt werden? Ist nicht die ganze Welt ein Theater? Die Sängerinnen von Dakh Daughters sind es gewohnt, Make-up auf der Bühne zu tragen – sie erscheinen mit gebleichten „Puppengesichtern“. Doch die tatsächliche Maske ist ihre Bühnenpräsenz. Diese neutrale Grundschattierung vereint verschiedene Charaktere und Schicksale und unterschiedliche Klänge sowie die Stimmen der Bandmitglieder. Die musikalische Performance erzählt die Geschichten von Schauspieler*innen ohne Make-up und wie diese in die Kreation von Gedichten und Komposition von Liedern münden. > Mehr

Tanya's Birthday. Berlin

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris, Riga/Lettland | Performance

Ein Konvergenzpunkt der europäischen Geschichte – das Jahr 1989: genauer von der Aktion "Baltischer Weg" im August bis zum Fall der Berliner Mauer im November – dient als Ausgangspunkt für die Inszenierung Tanya’s Birthday. Berlin. > Mehr

Cannon Fodder

KatlZ, Riga/Lettland | Performance

Heute leben wir in einer Welt, in der wir alle jederzeit zu „Kanonenfutter“ werden können.
Tatsächlich sind es einige von uns schon geworden. Und es ist nicht so, als wäre es vorher irgendwie anders gewesen.
Eigentlich hat sich nichts wirklich geändert. Doch haben wir dies erst jetzt in seiner ganzen Tragweite – und unwiderruflich – begriffen. Wir können der Entropie, die uns heimsucht und Teil von uns ist, nicht entkommen. Sie ist ein physikalisches Gesetz. > Mehr

Date an Eastern European

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Ungarn | Performance

Das ungarische Theaterkollektiv STEREO AKT nimmt die Vermittlerrolle ein und lädt das Publikum zu einem Online-Date. Alles ist vorbereitet: ein gemütliches Restaurant mit toller Atmosphäre, ein freundlicher Kellner mit schönem Lächeln und vor allem: ein*e attraktive*r Dating-Partner*in aus Osteuropa. Sie als Betrachter*in müssen nur Platz nehmen und ihn*sie kennenlernen. Aber was bedeutet es, Osteuropäer*in zu sein? Und was, eine*n zu daten? > Mehr

Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies

TR Warszawa, Warschau/Polen | Performance

Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies ist ein humorvoller, kritischer Kommentar zur aktuellen Situation der empfohlenen Isolation. Die Künstler*innen, in der Pandemie isoliert, nehmen an einer Online-Super-Produktion teil, um ihre Existenz, ihren kreativen Output und ihren professionellen Status zu legitimieren. Maria Klassenberg. Home choreographies ist ein künstlerischer Einwand gegen den Imperativ des ständigen Schaffens und eine Affirmation der Ruhe. Die Produktion will die Grenzen zwischen den Produzent*innen und dem Publikum, zwischen Theater und moderner Technologie aufheben. > Mehr

A different kind of white

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estland | Performance

Ein junger Mann aus Estland geht in den Senegal. Die Flucht in die Zukunft war schon immer sein Credo, und hier ist er nun, ein Schauspieler, der im Senegal an seiner nächsten Show arbeitet. Als er einen Einheimischen trifft, geschieht etwas, das ihn dazu bewegt, sich schwierige Fragen über bestimmte Aspekte seiner eigenen Identität zu stellen, und ihm wird klar, dass kein Weg an dieser Auseinandersetzung vorbeiführt. Weißsein wird gewöhnlich mit dem „Westen“ gleichgesetzt. Aber was wäre, wenn Du erst kürzlich in den Westen zurückgekehrt und arm und unsexy im Osten geboren worden wärest? Gelten die weißen Privilegien trotzdem für Dich? Natürlich tun sie das, objektiv betrachtet. Aber Dein subjektives Gefühl könnte darauf beharren, dass Schattierungen und Nuancen hinsichtlich Klasse und Geschichte bestehen. Die weiße Vorherrschaft kann uns mal, aber das gilt auch für selbstzufriedene Privilegiertheit, die nicht jeden Cent dreimal umdrehen muss. > Mehr

ZoomTime [SMUTA]

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kiew/Ukraine | Performance

Ein neues Theaterformat: ein großformatiges, theatralisches Gemälde in drei Akten, ein immersives Eintauchen in die SMUTA-Zeit, eine Zeit der Wirren und Unruhen in Russland am Ende des 16. Jahrhundert, die von Naturkatastrophen und schweren politischen, wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und staatlichen Krisen geprägt war. Und in der sich alles, was als sicher und gefestigt galt, als irrelevant erwies. > Mehr

Alambari
#TogetherAtTheSameTime

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kiew/Ukraine | Performance

Auf Einladung des Center of Contemporary Art DAKH kamen für das Projekt Alambari vom 01.04.-24.05.20 jeden Sonntag Theatermacher*innen aus verschiedenen Ländern in einer Online Live Performance zusammen. > Mehr