POSTWEST band POSTWEST band

POSTWEST \\ guess where

Transcultural festival

Originally planned for May 2020, the transcultural theater festival POSTWEST sought to bring together artists from ten countries who had developed twelve new plays especially for the festival. With its dramatic history between East and West, the Volksbühne is the perfect venue for this gathering of invited theater makers from Eastern Europe. Now all our partner theaters find themselves in a new reality. For us, as artistic teams, not only did the COVID-19 pandemic mean the cancellation of the festival week in May, but also the abrupt end of the preparation phase: rehearsals for our productions were just about to begin, the shared set for the stage in the Großes Haus had already been created in the Volksbühne workshops, and the schedule for each day of the festival had been finalized.

How, after a year of preparation, could this transcultural theater festival take place at such short notice without any completed productions or a real stage? By returning to the basic concept of the festival, collective artistic exchange. Over the last few weeks, we have intensified this collaboration that has brought our partner theaters to Berlin for three workshops since June 2019. Instead of the Volksbühne, we are using the digital realm to share ideas across borders—and thus also as a venue for the virtual edition of POSTWEST.

The twelve planned productions will now be replaced by digital contributions reflecting the nature of our international network, which will be made accessible to a global audience for the first time over a period of three days: online live performances, videos on demand, audio tracks, and discussions with the theater makers about their experiences with POSTWEST. This will be complemented by additional formats in our supporting program, which began a thematic countdown to the festival back in November 2019, including discursive events such as the series Plattform East, meetings with the artists, and DJ sets—all digital, of course.

POSTWEST has thus outgrown its original iteration as a stage event and is responding to this new reality. The Coronavirus crisis has allowed us to observe how many countries are turning in on themselves once more, and information about the situation in other countries seems like mere statistics. Against this background, reflecting on historical categories and the possibilities of their dissolution becomes more important than ever. East or West? Post-West, post-East, post-EastWest? Does a shared cultural heritage lead to a similar historical awareness? With such a wide variety of countries and identities, is it even possible to think about and shape the future together? What do a strong civil society, solidarity, values relevant to the future, and democratic systems look like to us? How can we, as theater makers—even during a global lockdown and without any public gatherings—continue to establish networks and long-term transcultural initiatives in order to respond artistically to these current social debates?

While the virtual edition of the festival addresses these questions, it also forms the foundation of an international network. The planned productions will premiere at our partner theaters once they have reopened and will be integrated into their repertoires. In this way, and through future collaborations, POSTWEST lives on as a space where artistic disciplines are not only considered from an individual or national perspective, but also create a transcultural context.

Cast
Curator: Alina Aleshchenko
Co-Curator: Wiebke Jahns
Dramaturgy: Degna Martens
Technical Production Manager: Karina Zotz, Michael Ladner
Main Stage Design: Julian Marbach
Head of stage department: Ann-Christine Müller
Stage Design Assistant: Julius Florin
Artistic and Dramaturgical Support: Lucia Bihler, Hannah Schünemann, Elif Sözer

> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

Animated teaser: Yuliia Kantsedal
Music: ZvukiPro.com © 2020

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band

POSTWEST \\ guess where

Transkulturelles Festival

Das transkulturelle Theaterfestival POSTWEST wollte im Mai 2020 Künstler*innen aus zehn Ländern zusammenbringen, die eigens dafür zwölf neue Stücke entwickelt haben. Die Volksbühne, mit ihrer bewegten Geschichte zwischen Ost und West, verkörpert wie kein anderes Theater den geeigneten Ort für die Begegnung mit den eingeladenen osteuropäischen Theatermacher*innen. Nun finden sich alle Partnertheater in einer neuen Realität wieder. Die COVID19-Pandemie bedeutete für uns als künstlerische Teams nicht nur den Ausfall der Festivalwoche im Mai, sondern auch das abrupte Ende der Vorbereitungsphase: Unsere Produktionen befanden sich kurz vor Probenstart, das gemeinsame Bühnenbild für das Große Haus entstand bereits in den Werkstätten der Volksbühne, der Zeitplan für die Festivaltage war finalisiert. 

Wie lässt sich dieses transkulturelle Theaterfestival nach einem Jahr Vorbereitungszeit ohne fertiggestellte Produktionen und ohne reale Bühne kurzfristig umsetzen? Mit einer Rückkehr zum Grundgedanken des Festivals, dem kollektiven künstlerischen Austausch. Die Kooperation, die die Partnertheater seit Juni 2019 für drei Workshops nach Berlin geführt hatte, intensivierten wir in den letzten Wochen. Statt der Volksbühne nutzen wir den digitalen Raum für grenzüberschreitenden Austausch und damit auch als Ort für unsere virtuelle Ausgabe von POSTWEST. 

An die Stelle der zwölf geplanten Inszenierungen treten nun digitale, die internationale Vernetzung reflektierende Beiträge, die an drei Tagen erstmalig einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich gemacht werden: Online-Live Performances, Videos on demand, Audiotracks und Diskussionen der Theatermacher*innen zu ihren Erfahrungen mit POSTWEST. Ergänzt durch weitere Formate unseres Rahmenprogrammes, das bereits seit November 2019 einen thematischen Countdown zum Festival eingeleitet hat: Diskursveranstaltungen wie die Reihe Platform East, Begegnungen mit den Künstler*innen oder DJ-sets – natürlich alles digital.

POSTWEST entwächst somit seinem ursprünglichen Festivalcharakter als Bühnengeschehen und reagiert auf die neue Realität. Durch die Corona-Krise beobachten wir, wie sich viele Länder wieder nach innen wenden, und Informationen über die Situation in anderen Staaten als bloße Statistiken erscheinen. Das Nachdenken über historische Kategorien und Möglichkeiten ihrer Auflösung wird vor diesem Hintergrund wichtiger denn je. Ost oder West? Post-West, Post-Ost, Post-OstWest? Resultiert aus einem gemeinsamen kulturellen Erbe per se ein ähnliches Geschichtsbewusstsein? Ist die Zukunft überhaupt – mit einer Vielzahl an Ländern und Identitäten – gemeinsam zu denken und zu gestalten? Wie sehen für uns eine starke Zivilgesellschaft, ein solidarisches Miteinander, zukunftsrelevante Werte und demokratische Systeme aus? Wie können wir uns als Theaterschaffende also – auch in Zeiten eines globalen Lockdowns und ohne Begegnungen im öffentlichen Raum – weiter vernetzen und langfristige, transkulturelle Initiativen aufbauen, um künstlerisch auf die aktuellen Gesellschaftsdebatten zu reagieren?

Während die virtuelle Ausgabe des Festivals sich mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt, bildet sie zugleich das Fundament eines internationalen Netzwerks. Die vorgesehenen Produktionen werden an unseren Partnertheatern nach deren Wiederöffnung Premiere feiern und in deren Repertoires eingehen. Auf diese Weise und durch künftige Kooperationen lebt POSTWEST weiter als Ort, an dem künstlerische Disziplinen nicht nur aus individueller oder nationaler Perspektive betrachtet werden, sondern einen transkulturellen Kontext ergeben.

Besetzung
Kuratorin: Alina Aleshchenko
Kuratorische Mitarbeit: Wiebke Jahns
Dramaturgie: Degna Martens
Technische Produktionsleitung: Karina Zotz, Michael Ladner
Bühnenbild Große Bühne: Julian Marbach
Leiterin der Ausstattung: Ann-Christine Müller
Ausstattungsassistenz: Julius Florin
Künstlerische und Dramaturgische Beratung: Lucia Bihler, Hannah Schünemann, Elif Sözer

> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

Animierter Teaser: Yuliia Kantsedal
Musik: ZvukiPro.com © 2020