POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
Fullscreen on
Fullscreen off

International Cooperations: Three Webinars for Theater Professionals
Part 3: Cooperations in Crisis

Discourse | In English

The rationale behind the POSTWEST theater festival has always been to establish lasting transcultural collaboration. In light of the current situation, international partnerships are more important than ever, but how are they actually formed and how can they continue to be developed in spite of the coronavirus crisis?

In three different discussions the POSTWEST partners will explore the issues surrounding international theater collaborations, together with experts in theory and praxis. These discussions consist of two parts: First, there is a live panel discussion in which the invited guests give their input on the topic. In the second part, theater makers and enthusiasts can exchange ideas with the festival partners and panel participants via Zoom by registering in advance.

If you would like to attend the discussion please register until 25.06. at besucherservice@volksbuehne-berlin.de. Please indicate your Zoom username and the title of the discussion "Cooperations in Crisis".

 

Part 3: Cooperations in Crisis

With Gianina Cărbunariu (Playwright, Director, Manager of Teatrul Tineretului; Piatra Neamț/Bucharest), Lisa Jopt (Actress, co-founder of the German association ensemble-netzwerk), Roman Pawłowski (Curator, Publicist, Director of Programming at TR Warszawa; Warsaw), Hedi-Lis Toome (Cultural Researcher at the University of Tartu, Estonia)

Moderation: Andrea Tompa (Theatre Critic, Budapest)

In any crisis situation, funding for cultural projects is always the first thing to be cut. The current coronavirus crisis is no exception. International cooperations are failing due to a lack of financial resources and because of travel restrictions or political relations between countries. Is the only option to wait and see what happens next, or should they be continued precisely for these reasons? What obligations and responsibilities do theater makers and institutions have in times of lacking solidarity and national isolation?

 

Lisa Jopt is an actor and founding member of ensemble-netzwerk along with Johanna Lücke. Founded in 2015, ensemble-netzwerk has been a non-profit association since 2016 with over 800 members and an office in Berlin. The association's mission is to improve working conditions in state, city, and national theaters. Lisa Jopt has been the president since its foundation. In 2018 Lisa Jopt and Nicola Bramkamp launched Burning Issues, a conference on performing arts and equality.

Andrea Tompa is a Hungarian writer, theatre critic and academic. Her main field of interest is contemporary Hungarian and East European theater and drama. She collaborates with theater magazine SZINHAZ. She teaches at Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj, Romania, and is the author of four novels.

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
Fullscreen on
Fullscreen off

International Cooperations: Three Webinars for Theater Professionals
Teil 3: Cooperations in Crisis

Diskurs | In englischer Sprache

Der Grundgedanke des Theaterfestivals POSTWEST ist seit Beginn die Etablierung nachhaltiger transkultureller Kooperationen. Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation sind internationale Partnerschaften wichtiger denn je, doch wie entstehen sie überhaupt, und wie können sie trotz der Corona-Krise weiterentwickelt werden?

In drei Diskussionen setzen sich die POSTWEST-Partner*innen gemeinsam mit Expert*innen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis mit Fragestellungen zu internationalen Theaterkooperationen auseinander. Die Gespräche bestehen aus zwei Teilen: Zunächst gibt es eine live übertragene Podiumsdiskussion, in der die geladenen Gäste ihre Inputs zu dem Thema geben. Im zweiten Teil können sich Theatermacher*innen und -interessierte unter vorheriger Anmeldung via Zoom mit den Festivalpartner*innen und Diskutant*innen austauschen.

Wenn Sie mitdiskutieren möchten, melden Sie sich bitte bis 25.06. unter: besucherservice@volksbuehne-berlin.de unter Angabe des Zoom Benutzer*innenamens sowie des Titels "Cooperations in Crisis".

 

Teil 3: Cooperations in Crisis

Mit: Gianina Cărbunariu (Dramatikerin, Regisseurin, Leiterin Teatrul Tineretului; Piatra Neamț/Bukarest), Lisa Jopt (Schauspielerin, Mitgründerin vom ensemble-netzwerk), Roman Pawłowski (Kurator, Publizist, Programmdirektor TR Warszawa; Warschau), Hedi-Lis Toome (Kulturwissenschaftlerin Universität Tartu, Estland)

Moderation: Andrea Tompa (Theaterkritikerin, Budapest)

In jeder Krisen-Situation werden zuerst die Förderungen von Kulturprojekten gestrichen. Die aktuelle Corona-Krise ist dabei keine Ausnahme. Internationale Kooperationen scheitern an fehlenden finanziellen Ressourcen und aufgrund von Reisebeschränkungen oder politischen Beziehungen zwischen Ländern. Kann man nur abwarten oder sollen sie gerade deswegen fortgesetzt werden? Welche Verpflichtungen und Aufgaben haben Theatermacher*innen und -institutionen in Zeiten mangelnder Solidarität und nationaler Abschottung?

 

Lisa Jopt ist Schauspielerin und Gründundsmitglied des ensemble-netzwerks, gemeinsam mit Johanna Lücke. 2015 gegründet, ist das ensemble-netzwerk seit 2016 ein gemeinnütziger Verein mit über 800 Mitgliedern und einer Geschäftsstelle in Berlin. Der Verein hat sich die Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen an den Landes-, Stadt und Staatstheatern zur Aufgabe gemacht, Lisa Jopt ist seit der Gründung die Vorsitzende. Gemeinsam mit Nicola Bramkamp ist seit 2018 die Initiatorin von Burning Issues, der Konferenz zur Performing Arts & Equality.

Andrea Tompa ist eine ungarische Schriftstellerin. Theaterkritikerin und Wissenschaftlerin. Ihr Hauptinteresse gilt dem zeitgenössischen ungarischen und osteuropäischen Theater und Drama. Sie arbeitet mit dem Theatermagazin SZINHAZ zusammen. Weiterhin lehrt sie an der Babes-Bolyai-Universität in Cluj, Rumänien, und ist Autorin von vier Romanen.