POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

We are here for you
Discussion on 'The Heroes of Capitalist Labor' by Saša Uhlová

Prague City Theatres, Prague/Czech Republic
Discourse | Czech with German or English subtitles | 34 min

With: Michal Hába, Kateřina Smejkalová and Saša Uhlová

Acclaimed Czech journalist Saša Uhlová worked in various jobs—full-time, part-time, and temporary—under an assumed identity. For months, she monitored what wages employees were really receiving and whether the Labor Code was being upheld, exploring what life was like for the people working in the lowest-paid jobs in the Czech Republic. She worked in a hospital laundry room, a chicken processing plant, a supermarket, a razor factory, and a waste management plant.

In his play The Heroes of Capitalist Labor, which is based on Saša Uhlová’s investigative series, Michal Hába and his artistic team focus on the invisible people and jobs that our society overlooks, despite their utmost importance for its functioning. Czech political scientist Kateřina Smejkalová, Michal Hába and Saša Uhlová will discuss the central themes of Saša Uhlová’s book as well as an actual list of requirements, There is no immunity without solidarity which were formulated during the coronavirus crisis and submitted to the government:

The economy must be there for the people, not the people for the economy.
Ecology is the foundation, not a luxury.
Not every technological development is progress.
“Equal” taxes cause inequality.
The state must not be a prison for debtors.
Public support for all instead of having to beg for low benefits.
Healthcare, education, and culture are the backbone of society.
Housing is a right.
Arms spending is not an inviolable priority.
Power corrupts, power without control restricts freedom.
Europe must be cohesive and stand in solidarity without centers or peripheries.

Credits
Video: Barbora Johansson
Realization: Crew of Komedie theatre

A coproduction between Prague City Theatres and Volksbühne Berlin

Funded by Capital City of Prague
Supported by: Ministry of Culture of Czech Republic, German-Czech Future Fond, Czech Centre Berlin

 

Saša Uhlová is a Czech journalist. She graduated with a degree in Romani studies from the Department of Philosophy at Charles University in Prague. After her studies she worked as an anthropological field researcher in socially excluded communities. From 2009 to 2016 she was an editor at the online monthly magazine Referendum. In 2011 she worked for ROMEA as an editor of the monthly magazine Romano Vodi. She received recognition at the 2015 Journalist Awards and has been working as an editor for the online journal A2larm since 2017. In the same year she worked for a month at a time in a hospital laundry, a poultry factory, and in a supermarket as a cashier, as well as working on an assembly line and at a waste disposal plant on a weekly basis. She recorded her experiences in the essay The Heroes of Capitalist Labor and in her documentary film The Limits of Work.

Kateřina Smejkalová (born 1986) studied German studies and political science at Ruhr-University Bochum on a scholarship from the German Academic Scholarship Foundation. Since 2014 she has worked as a research assistant at the Friedrich Ebert Foundation in Prague and as a journalist. Her primary areas of interest are work, the social dimension of technologies, and fundamental political issues.

 

> The Limits of Work (Film), available for 24 hours from 24.06., 18:00

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

We are here for you
Discussion on 'The Heroes of Capitalist Labor' by Saša Uhlová

Prague City Theatres, Prag/Tschechien
Diskurs | In tschechischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Untertiteln | 34 min

Mit: Michal Hába, Kateřina Smejkalová und Saša Uhlová

Die renommierte tschechische Journalistin Saša Uhlová arbeitete unter einer angenommenen Identität als Angestellte, Teilzeitarbeiter*in oder Aushilfskraft in verschiedenen Jobs. Monatelang beobachtete sie, welche Löhne die Angestellten wirklich erhalten und ob die Arbeitsgesetze eingehalten werden. Sie erforschte die Gesamtsituation und die Lebensgeschichten von Menschen, die im Niedriglohnsektor der Tschechischen Republik arbeiten. Uhlová arbeitete in der Waschküche eines Krankenhauses, in einer Geflügelfabrik, als Kassiererin in einem Supermarkt, in einer Fabrik, die Rasiermesser produziert und in einer Abfallsortieranlage.    

In seinem Stück The Heroes of Capitalist Labor, das auf Saša Uhlovás Serie investigativer Beiträge basiert, konzentriert sich Michal Hába mit seinem künstlerischen Team auf die unsichtbaren Menschen und Jobs, die trotz ihrer enormen Bedeutung für das Funktionieren der Gesellschaft übersehen werden. Nach der Hälfte des Probenzeitraums führen die tschechische Politikwissenschaftlerin Katerina Smejkalová, Michal Hába und Saša Uhlová ein Gespräch über die Kernthesen in Saša Uhlovás Buch sowie über eine Liste an Forderungen,die unter dem Titel Keine Immunität ohne Solidarität während der Corona-Krise an die Regierung übergeben wurde:

Die Wirtschaft muss für die Menschen da sein, nicht die Menschen für die Wirtschaft.
Ökologie ist das Fundament und nicht Luxus.
Nicht jede technologische Entwicklung ist Fortschritt.
„Gleiche“ Steuern verursachen Ungleichheit.
Der Staat darf kein Gefängnis für Schuldner*innen sein.
Statt um niedrige Sozialleistungen zu betteln, staatliche Unterstützung für alle.
Gesundheitswesen, Bildung und Kultur sind das Rückgrat der Gesellschaft.
Wohnen ist ein Recht.
Rüstungsausgaben sind keine unantastbare Priorität.
Macht korrumpiert, unkontrollierte Macht schränkt Freiheit ein.
Europa muss zusammenhalten und solidarisch sein, ohne Zentren und Peripherien.

Credits
Video: Barbora Johansson
Umsetzung: Team des Komedie Theatre, Prague City Theatres

Eine Koproduktion zwischen Prague City Theatres und Volksbühne Berlin

Gefördert von: Stadt Prag
Unterstützt durch: Kulturministerium der Tschechischen Republik, Deutsch-Tschechische Zukunftsfonds, Tschechisches Zentrum Berlin

 

Saša Uhlová ist tschechische Journalistin. Sie absolvierte Romologie an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Karls-Universität in Prag. Nach ihrem Studium arbeitete sie als anthropologische Feldforscherin in sozial ausgegrenzten Gemeinden. Von 2009 bis 2016 war sie Redakteurin der Online-Monatszeitschrift Referendum. 2011 arbeitete sie für ROMEA als Herausgeberin des Monatsmagazins Romano Vodi. Sie erhielt eine Anerkennung im Rahmen des Journalist Award 2015. Seit 2017 ist sie als Redakteurin für das Online-Journal A2larm tätig. Im selben Jahr war sie jeweils einen Monat in einer Krankenhauswäscherei, einer Geflügelfabrik und an einer Supermarkt-Kasse tätig, sowie wochenweise am Fließband und in der Abfallentsorgung. Ihre Erfahrungen wurden in ihrem Essay „Helden der kapitalistischen Arbeit“ sowie in dem Dokumentarfilm „Grenzen der Arbeit“ festgehalten.

Kateřina Smejkalová (1986) studierte als Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes Gemanistik und Politikwissenschaft an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Seit 2014 ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Prag, darüber hinaus auch publizistisch tätig. Sie beschäftigt sich dem Thema Arbeit, der gesellschaftlichen Dimension von Technologien und politischen Grundsatzfragen.

 

> The Limits of Work (Film), 24h verfügbar ab 24.06., 18:00