POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

Date an Eastern European

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Hungary
Performance | In Hungarian and German, with English, German and Hungarian subtitles | 13 min

The Hungarian theater collective STEREO AKT is taking on the role of matchmaker and inviting the audience on an online date. Everything has been prepared: a cosy restaurant with a good atmosphere, a friendly waiter with a nice smile, and, most importantly, an attractive dating partner from Eastern Europe. The spectator—you—simply has to take a seat and get to know them. But what does it mean to be Eastern European? And to date one?

Observe your dating partner and try to read their background stories from their faces. Listen to what an omniscient voice tells you about them. Will you get to know their true self among all the hints, impressions, confessions, and prejudices that you will encounter? How will you be able to tell who they really are?

As the intimate “blind date” event is given sociocultural, political, and historical dimensions, spectators are invited to take their own positions and explore the issue of being Eastern and Western European or anything in between.

Credits
Director: Martin Boross
Dramaturgy: Gábor Thury
Sound Design: Márk Bartha
Costume Design: Fruzsina Nagy
Cinematography: Dániel Bálint
Production Assistant: Zsuzsanna Balogh
Producer: Daniel Mayer
Costume Design Interns: Gabriella Csoma, Petra Mák
Focus Puller: Daniel Benkő
Camera Assistant: Attila Négyesy

German Scene:
Video: Jens Crull, Max Heesen 
Sound: Tobias Gringel
Lighting: Sascha Grohmann
Props: Yvonne Schulz
Decoration: Julius Florin

With: Zoltán Ásmány, Luca Borsos, László Göndör, Lili Raubinek, Imre Vass
Guest: Katja Gaudard

A coproduction between STEREO AKT and Volksbühne Berlin

Funded by: National Cultural Fund of Hungary
Supported by: Collegicum Hungaricum Berlin

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

Date an Eastern European

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Ungarn
Performance | In ungarischer und deutscher Sprache mit englischen, deutschen und ungarischen Untertiteln | 13 min

Das ungarische Theaterkollektiv STEREO AKT nimmt die Vermittlerrolle ein und lädt das Publikum zu einem Online-Date. Alles ist vorbereitet: ein gemütliches Restaurant mit toller Atmosphäre, ein freundlicher Kellner mit schönem Lächeln und vor allem: ein*e attraktive*r Dating-Partner*in aus Osteuropa. Sie als Betrachter*in müssen nur Platz nehmen und die Person kennenlernen. Aber was bedeutet es, Osteuropäer*in zu sein? Und was, eine*n zu daten?

Beobachten Sie Ihr Gegenüber und versuchen Sie, seine Hintergrundgeschichte vom Gesicht abzulesen. Lauschen Sie einer allwissenden Stimme und was Sie Ihnen über Ihr Gegenüber verrät. Werden Sie hinter all den Hinweisen, Eindrücken, Geständnissen und Vorurteilen, denen Sie begegnen, sein wahres Ich kennenlernen? Wie können Sie herausfinden, wer es wirklich ist?

Dadurch, dass das intime Erlebnis eines „Blind Date“ um eine soziokulturelle, politische und historische Dimension erweitert wird, wird das Publikum dazu angeregt, eigene Positionen einzunehmen und zu erkunden, was es bedeutet, Ost- bzw. Westeuropäer*in oder irgendwas dazwischen zu sein.

Credits
Regie: Martin Boross
Dramaturgie: Gábor Thury
Sounddesign: Márk Bartha
Kostümdesign: Fruzsina Nagy
Cinematographie: Dániel Bálint
Produktionsassistenz: Zsuzsanna Balogh
Produzent: Daniel Mayer
Kostümpraktikat*innen: Gabriella Csoma, Petra Mák
Focus Puller: Daniel Benkő
Kamerasssistenz: Attila Négyesy

Deutsche Szene:
Video: Jens Crull, Max Heesen 
Ton: Tobias Gringel
Beleuchtung: Sascha Grohmann
Requisite: Yvonne Schulz
Ausstattung: Julius Florin

Mit: Zoltán Ásmány, Luca Borsos, László Göndör, Lili Raubinek, Imre Vass
Gast: Katja Gaudard

Eine Koproduktion zwischen STEREO AKT und der Volksbühne Berlin

Gefördert durch: National Cultural Fund of Hungary
Unterstützung durch: Collegicum Hungaricum Berlin