POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

A different kind of white

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estonia
Performance | Estonian with German and English subtitles | 38 min

A young man from Estonia goes to Senegal. Escaping to the future has always been his credo, and now here he is, an actor working in Senegal on his next show. Meeting a local, something happens that makes him ask himself difficult questions about one layer of his identity, and he realizes he cannot escape.

As a cliché, whiteness is usually conflated with the West. But what if you only recently rejoined the West and were born poor and unsexy in the East? Does white privilege apply to you? Of course it does, objectively, but your subjective inner feeling might insist that there are shades and nuances with regard to class and history. White supremacy can fuck itself, but so can smug privilege that doesn’t remember the price of milk.

Ivan Krastev, a Bulgarian essayist, has said that the relationship between East and West is like that between an imitator and his ideal. Is then the East’s only option to be a copy, a bastard of the West? And when questions of whiteness and privilege come into play—and they must be addressed, so let them come—is white skin, a white mask, the East’s only option? Where can you go when you’re white, but some whites are more white than others? Oh, back where we all come from—to shadow and void. A different kind of white is a performative foray down the rabbit hole of identities.

Credits
Idea, Direction, Performance: Jarmo Reha
Composition, Sound Design: Markus Robam
Light and Video Art: Mikk Mait Kivi
Ideas for Light Art: Emer Värk
Art Direction: Madlen Hirtentreu
Texts, Dramaturgy: Laur Kaunissaare
Stage Management: Tuuli Raadik
Producer: Eneli Järs
Project Manager: Liisa Liksor

With: Jarmo Reha

A coproduction between Vaba Lava, Baltoscandal Festival and Volksbühne Berlin

Supported by: Cultural Endowment of Estonia

With special thanks to: Henry Kasch, Allan Räim, Maldar-Mikk Kuusk, Ellon Tiivas, Margus Terasmees, Kanuti Gildi SAAL, EKKM, Uue Loomingu Maja (ULM), Widescreen Productions, Uninaks

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band
> Play II Pause
00:00
Fullscreen on Fullscreen off
Sound on Sound off

A different kind of white

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estland
Performance | In estnischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Untertiteln | 38 min

Ein junger Mann aus Estland geht in den Senegal. Die Flucht in die Zukunft war schon immer sein Credo, und hier ist er nun, ein Schauspieler, der im Senegal an seiner nächsten Show arbeitet. Als er einen Einheimischen trifft, geschieht etwas, das ihn dazu bewegt, sich schwierige Fragen über bestimmte Aspekte seiner eigenen Identität zu stellen, und ihm wird klar, dass kein Weg an dieser Auseinandersetzung vorbeiführt.

Weißsein wird gewöhnlich mit dem „Westen“ gleichgesetzt. Aber was wäre, wenn Du erst kürzlich in den Westen zurückgekehrt und arm und unsexy im Osten geboren worden wärest? Gelten die weißen Privilegien trotzdem für Dich? Natürlich tun sie das, objektiv betrachtet. Aber Dein subjektives Gefühl könnte darauf beharren, dass Schattierungen und Nuancen hinsichtlich Klasse und Geschichte bestehen. Die weiße Vorherrschaft kann uns mal, aber das gilt auch für selbstzufriedene Privilegiertheit, die nicht jeden Cent dreimal umdrehen muss.

Von dem bulgarischen Essayisten Ivan Krastev stammen die Worte, das Verhältnis zwischen Ost und West sei wie das zwischen einem Imitator und seinem Vorbild. Bleibt dem Osten also keine andere Wahl, als eine Kopie des Westens zu sein? Und wenn Fragen zu Weißsein und Privilegiertheit ins Spiel kommen –, denn wir müssen uns mit ihnen auseinandersetzen –, ist dann weiße Haut, eine weiße Maske, die einzige Option des Ostens? Wohin können wir uns wenden, wenn wir weiß sind, aber einige Weiße weißer sind als andere? Natürlich dorthin, wo wir alle herkommen – in den Schatten und die Leere. A different kind of white ist ein performativer Streifzug durch die Abgründe der Identitäten.

Credits
Idee, Regie, Performance: Jarmo Reha
Komposition, Sound: Markus Robam
Licht, Video: Mikk Mait Kivi
Lichtkonzept: Emer Värk
Künstlerische Leitung: Madlen Hirtentreu
Texte, Dramaturgie: Laur Kaunissaare
Inspizienz: Tuuli Raadik
Produzentin: Eneli Järs
Projektmanagement: Liisa Liksor

Mit: Jarmo Reha

Eine Koproduktion zwischen Vaba Lava, Baltoscandal Festival und der Volksbühne Berlin

Unterstützt durch: Cultural Endowment of Estonia

Mit besonderem Dank an: Henry Kasch, Allan Räim, Maldar-Mikk Kuusk, Ellon Tiivas, Margus Terasmees, Kanuti Gildi SAAL, EKKM, Uue Loomingu Maja (ULM), Widescreen Productions, Uninaks