POSTWEST band POSTWEST band

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kyiv/Ukraine

The Center of Contemporary Art DAKH was founded by director and producer Vlad Troitskyi in 1994. A physicist by education and a successful businessman, Troitskyi made his debut as a director in the theater studio of Anatholyi Cherkov, the leader of the Ukrainian avant-garde in the 1970s and 1980s. In 2001 Vlad Troitskyi graduated from the department of acting and directing at the Russian Academy of Theater Arts, where his course was led by Boris Yukhananov. A snail creeping up Mount Fuji—“slowly, to the very top”—became the peculiar symbol of DAKH’s founding principles. > More

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris, Riga/Latvia

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris (GIT) is an independent production house that stages four to six new productions per season and offers a monthly program of repertoire performances. GIT’s collaboration with artists from the fields of theater, dance, and music is based on a shared belief in the value of creative work—GIT supports and encourages new initiatives and ideas to aid artistic growth. > More

Jaunimo teatras, Vilnius/Lithuania

Founded in 1965, the Jaunimo teatras (Youth Theatre) is a repertory theatre that became legendary thanks to  the early productions of Eimuntas Nekrošius. Nekrošius began his artistic career in the Jaunimo teatras under the leadership of the director Dalia Tamulevičiūtė, his teacher and a prominent personality in the Lithuanian theater scene. Performances directed by Nekrošius in the mid-eighties and nineties toured festivals and theaters around the world and became one of Lithuania’s cultural highlights during the Soviet period. > More

KatlZ, Riga/Latvia

KatlZ is the independent theatre production company based in Riga. The company creates performances which bring together different communities, culture and languages traditions in order to connect people and pay attention to everyone. > More

New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Riga/Latvia

The New Theatre Institute of Latvia (NTIL) is a project-based organization that has been working in the field of contemporary performing arts since 1998. NTIL organizes Homo Novus, the annual international festival of contemporary theater, as well asproducing and presenting artistic, educational, and research projects and collaboration programs with local and international partners that focus on emerging ideas, innovative work, and responsible action. > More

Prague City Theatres, Prague/Czech Republic

Prague City Theatres are one of Prague’s most significant cultural institutions with a rich history dating back to 1950. Launched in 2018 with a new management headed by Daniel Přibyl as managing director and Michal Dočekal as artistic chief, Prague City Theatres are comprised of three main venues: Rokoko, ABC, and Komedie Theater. In addition to these venues, activities and productions are also held at open-air venues and various other non-theatrical buildings. > More

Qendra Multimedia & National Theatre of Kosovo, Pristina/Kosovo

Qendra Multimedia in Pristina is considered to be one of the most interesting and authentic theater companies in Southeastern Europe. Since its foundation in 2002, it has produced several shows that have been successfully performed in major theaters and at festivals across Europe and America. The National Theatre of Kosovo is the most important theatrical institution in the Republic of Kosovo. It was founded just after World War II and since then has produced hundreds of plays that have been viewed by over one million people. > More

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Hungary

STEREO AKT is one of Hungary’s most progressive contemporary theater collectives. Based in Budapest, it creates event-like performances under the artistic leadership of Martin Boross. Theater is an event, audience members are participants, and the purpose of this event is the encounter between the participants’ reality and the artist’s fantasy. The essence of STEREO AKT’s performances is born out of the—often wordless—dialogue between the audience and the performers. > More

Teatrul Tineretului, Piatra Neamț/Romania

The Teatrul Tineretului (Theater of Youth) is a Romanian public institution with a permanent ensemble of twenty-seven actors that collaborates with artistic guests of all ages. Its mission to support artists at the beginning of their careers has been embedded in the theater's DNA since 1958. In recent years, the repertoire has focused on productions based on contemporary drama and interdisciplinary artistic activities that address diverse audiences and reflect the conflicts and challenges of society today. > More

TR Warszawa, Warsaw/Poland

TR Warszawa is one of Poland’s most important theaters. As the creator of the theater, Grzegorz Jarzyna has established an acclaimed team of artists and built a home for artistic experiments of all kinds, which also attracts other directors such as René Pollesch and Kornél Mundruczó or the recently invited Luk Perceval and Philippe Quesne. In addition to its international search for new talent and a new language for contemporary theater, TR Warszawa is also dedicated to promoting emerging voices in the Polish performing arts scene. > More

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estonia

The foundation Vaba Lava (Open Space) was established in May 2010 in order to provide opportunities for independent performing arts companies in Estonia, and to promote international cooperation through joint projects, co-productions, workshops, and seminars. Vaba Lava is a production center and a hotbed for new, experimental, and innovative performance. It also runs a network with similar theaters abroad. > More

Volksbühne Berlin, Berlin/Germany

Since it first opened, the Volksbühne has had a strong focus on the development and impact of new forms of theatrical productions. Built in 1914 by the architect Oskar Kaufmann, the Volksbühne am Rosa Luxemburg Platz seats over 800 people.  Its construction was financed solely by donations from members of the Verein Freie Volksbühne (Association for a Free People’s Theatre) with so-called “workers’ pennies”. Throughout its history, the Volksbühne has been shaped by directors, authors and artists who constantly challenge the boundaries of classical spoken theatre. > More

POSTWEST band POSTWEST band

Center of Contemporary Art DAKH, Kiew/Ukraine

Das Center of Contemporary Art DAKH (Zentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst DAKH) wurde 1994 von dem Regisseur und Produzenten Vlad Troitskyi gegründet. Der studierte Physiker und erfolgreiche Geschäftsmann Troitskyi machte sein Regiedebüt am Theaterstudio von Anatholyi Cherkov, dem Vorreiter der ukrainischen Avantgarde der 1970er und 1980er Jahre. 2001 schloss Troitskyi sein Studium der Schauspielerei und Regie an der Russian Academy of Theater Arts in der Klasse von Boris Yukhananov ab. Eine Schnecke, die den Fuji „langsam, bis ganz nach oben“ hinaufkriecht, wurde zum sonderbaren Symbol der Grundprinzipien des DAKH. > Mehr

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris, Riga/Lettland

Ģertrūdes ielas teātris (GIT) ist eine freie Produktionsstätte, die in jeder Saison vier bis sechs neue Produktionen auf die Bühne bringt und zudem ein monatliches Programm an Stücken aus ihrem festen Repertoire aufführt. GITs Kollaborationen mit Künstler*innen aus den Bereichen Theater, Tanz und Musik beruhen auf dem gemeinsamen Glauben an den Wert kreativer Arbeit. > Mehr

Jaunimo teatras, Vilnius/Litauen

Jaunimo teatras ist ein 1965 gegründetes Repertoiretheater, das durch Eimuntas Nekrošius‘ frühe Produktionen legendär wurde. Nekrošius begann seine Künstlerkarriere im Jugendtheater unter der Theaterleitung seiner Lehrerin, der Direktorin Dalia Tamulevičiūtė, einer berühmten Persönlichkeit der litauischen Theaterlandschaft. Die von Nekrošius zwischen Mitte der achtziger und neunziger Jahre inszenierten Performances waren auf den Festivals und Theaterbühnen der Welt zu Gast und wurden während der Sowietzeit zu einem der kulturellen Highlights Litauens. > Mehr

KatlZ, Riga/Lettland

KatlZ ist eine unabhängige Produktionskompagnie in Riga. Sie kreiert Performances, die in erster Linie verschiedene Gemeinschaften, Kultur- und Sprachtraditionen zusammenbringt, um Verbindungen herzustellen und Gehör für jede*n zu verschaffen. > Mehr

New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Riga/Lettland

Das New Theatre Institute of Latvia (NTIL) ist eine projektbasierte Organisation, die seit 1998 im Bereich der performativen Künste aktiv ist. NTIL richtet das jährlich stattfindende, internationale Festival Homo Novus für zeitgenössisches Theater aus. Darüber hinaus produziert und entwickelt es Kunst-, Forschungs- und Bildungsprojekte sowie Kooperationsprogramme mit lokalen und internationalen Partner*innen, die sich auf kreative Konzepte, innovative Arbeit und verantwortungvolles Handeln fokussieren. > Mehr

Prague City Theatres, Prag/Tschechien

Die Prague City Theatres zählen zu den bedeutendsten Kulturinstitutionen der Stadt und blicken auf eine bewegte Vergangenheit zurück, die bis in das Jahr 1950 zurückreicht. Seit 2018 haben die Prager Stadttheater eine neue Leitung, an deren Spitze Daniel Přibyl als Geschäftsführer und Michal Dočekal als künstlerischer Leiter stehen. Seitdem umfassen die Prager Stadttheater drei Haupthäuser: Das Rokoko, das ABC und das Komedie Theatre. Zusätzlich zu diesen Spielstätten sind Aktivitäten und Produktionen im Freien und in zahlreichen Nicht-Theatergebäuden geplant. > Mehr

Qendra Multimedia & National Theatre of Kosovo, Pristina/Kosovo

Qendra Multimedia aus Pristina gilt als eine der innovativsten und authentischsten Theatergruppen Südosteuropas. Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2002 wurden zahlreiche Produktionen der Gruppe mit großem Erfolg in bedeutenden Theatern und auf Festivals in Europa und Amerika aufgeführt. Das National Theatre of Kosovo ist die bedeutendste Theaterinstitution der Republik Kosovo. Gegründet unmittelbar nach dem Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs, produzierte das Haus hunderte von Stücken, die bisher über eine Million Besucher*innen angezogen haben. > Mehr

STEREO AKT, Budapest/Ungarn

STEREO AKT zählt zu den progressivsten zeitgenössischen Theaterkollektiven Ungarns. Mit Sitz in Budapest setzt es unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Martin Boross eventbasierte Performances um. Das Theater wird zum Ereignis, die Zuschauenden zu Teilnehmenden. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die Begegnung zwischen der Realität der Teilnehmenden und der Fantasie der Künstler*innen. Die Kernaussage der Performances von STEREO AKT wird aus dem – oftmals wortlosen – Dialog zwischen dem Publikum und den Performer*innen geboren. > Mehr

Teatrul Tineretului, Piatra Neamț/Rumänien

Das Teatrul Tineretului (Theater der Jugend) ist eine öffentliche Institution mit einem festen Ensemble von 27 Schauspieler*innen. Darüber hinaus arbeitet das Theater mit künstlerischen Gästen aller Altersstufen zusammen. Seine Mission, Künstler*innen am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn zu unterstützen, zählt seit 1958 zu den tragenden Säulen des Theaters. In den vergangenen Jahren konzentrierte sich das Repertoire des Theaters auf zeitgenössische Dramen und interdisziplinäre künstlerische Aktivitäten, die sich an ein diverses Publikum richten und die Konflikte und Herausforderungen unserer heutigen Gesellschaft thematisieren. > Mehr

TR Warszawa, Warschau/Polen

TR Warszawa zählt zu den bedeutendsten Theatern Polens. Als Gründer des Theaters hat Grzegorz Jarzyna ein renommiertes Team von Künstler*innen zusammengestellt und eine Stätte für künstlerische Experimente aller Art geschaffen. Daraus gingen auch Zusammenarbeiten mit externen Regisseur*innen wie René Pollesch und Kornél Mundruczó oder, in jüngster Vergangenheit, Luk Perceval und Philippe Quesne hervor. Neben dem Ausschau halten nach internationalen Talenten und der Suche nach einer neuen Sprache für das zeitgenössische Theater, hat sich das TR Warszawa auch der Förderung junger Stimmen aus der polnischen Performance-Szene verschrieben.  > Mehr

Vaba Lava, Tallinn/Estland

Die Stiftung Vaba Lava (Offener Raum) wurde im Mai 2010 gegründet, um freie Performing-Arts-Kompanien in Estland zu unterstützen und internationale Zusammenarbeiten durch Gemeinschaftsprojekte, Koproduktionen, Workshops und Seminare voranzutreiben. Vaba Lava ist Produktionsstätte und Zentrum für neue experimentelle und unkonventionelle Arbeitsweisen. Inzwischen ist Vaba Lava zu eine unverzichtbare Spielstätte für junge, experimentelle und innovative Strömungen im Bereich der darstellenden Künste geworden. Darüber hinaus ist Vaba Lava hervorragend mit Theatern im Ausland vernetzt, die programmatisch ähnlich ausgerichtet sind. > Mehr

Volksbühne Berlin, Berlin/Deutschland

Seit ihrer Gründung ist die Volksbühne auf die Entwicklung und Wirkung neuer Regieformen angelegt. 1914 erbaut vom Architekten Oskar Kaufmann, verfügt das Haus am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz über 800 Zuschauerplätze. Allein durch Spenden der Mitglieder des Vereins Freie Volksbühne, sogenannte Arbeitergroschen, konnte der Bau des Theaters finanziert werden. Die Volksbühne ist geprägt von starken Regie-, Autoren- und Künstlerpersönlichkeiten, die die Grenzen des klassischen Sprechtheaters unablässig neu vermessen haben. > Mehr